No Disrespect, just a simple opinion.

 

635897197211811932-468736692_abc

 

I would like to start this post by saying there is no other profession I respect more than teaching. This post is not personally toward anyone, if the shoe fits and you feel like putting on your socks, wear it.

As the kind of student that I see myself as, I work really hard for my grades and I have worked very hard for my diploma. I see other students not take school seriously and I have never been like that. Not exactly because of the education aspect of being here everyday but more due to the fact that I dont like to waste time. Time is the most precious thing humans have to barter with. I have put too much time into high school to screw it up now.

That leads me to why I am frustrated this morning. I have worked so hard in my classes, been up to date on blogs and responses, and I do every assignment handed to me. So when I go to look at my grade and I have a D, I get very frustrated. Not because I have getting bad grades, but because my grades have not been kept up to date. My blogs arent getting looked at but im getting zeros, my paper assignments are getting lost and not graded.

Until you are 16, as a student you are legally obligated to attend school, I am 18. I dont need to be here. I could be making full time money right now. When I choose to take my time and come to school everyday, and work my butt off, I dont come here and disrupt the teacher or ask for much. But when im doing all this  work I believe that its not too much to ask that teachers take the time to give credit. Look at what grades are being put in and double check them. That percentage next to that letter in my gradebook can make or break my day and affect my confidence and motivation to learn.

This being said, I will point out that I do understand I am not the only student that needs to be paid attention to, and that I dont know how much work is on the plate of a high school teacher. But this is a teachers job, we are spoken to about professionalism in this school, I believe that grading is a super important part of the job. Its about being on time and paying attention to detail. Like an officer doing paperwork correctly, Or secretaries keeping track of their bosses appointments. I know that I am not the only one with the issues specifically about grades being submitted. Am I being out of line with this post or do others feel the way I do?

 

2 thoughts on “No Disrespect, just a simple opinion.

  1. I agree with you completely! Not necessary just in this school but in many past schools and classes. I thinks it’s almost hypocritical when teachers constantly bug people about getting work in on time and saying that we need to respect our work because school is like practice for a “job”. When teaching is actually their job and it takes weeks or even months to get one single grade into the grade book. And yes I understand that teachers are humans too and no one is perfect but sometimes I feel like I’m being held to a standard higher than the teachers.

    Like

  2. One thing that will dock you is not turning in a book talk. That is worth 50 points, which is equal to a test or 10 blogs, so it’s a lot of points. Also, Cyndi tends to grade harsher than other teachers I have had. It’s not a bad thing, but as the student you have to figure out what she is looking for. It’s just a learning curve. When I first started here, I was getting bad grades because I didn’t do my book talks and I wasn’t producing what Cyndi was looking for in my work. Don’t get discouraged.(: I would suggest going to her and asking how you can change your work to match the assignment qualifications better.

    Like

Leave a comment